Summer Reading = Summer Blogging

9 May

Here’s a look at my summer reading list.  These    things usually turn out more ambitious than I can manage.  But hey, as a wise cliche once said, “shoot for the moon and even if you miss you’ll be amongst the stars!”  Or perhaps you’ll end up suborbital and eventually fall back to earth in pieces, but I digress.

This time around, my reading list is structured to equip my response to what I consider two nagging, but important questions:

1.)  Where does cultural change come from?

Jesuit on the roof of the World by Trent Pomplun

To Change the World by James Davison Hunter

Christianity and Contemporary Politics by Luke Bretherton

2.)  What does it mean to be the child of Southern immigrants? (yes I meant the southern U.S.)

American Slavery, American Freedom by Edmund Morgan

The Known World by Edward P. Jones

Capital Men by Philip Dray

Confederates in the Attic by Tony Horwitz

Bridges of Memory Oral History Series by Timuel Black

I’ll be blogging selectively about these books over the next few months.  If you have an interest in them, please feel free to comment as I go along.  And if you have other suggestions on the themes above, please share them as well.  This canon is not closed.

Leave a Reply

